The Soil Science Society of South Africa was founded on the 27th of April 1953 in Pretoria. The founder members were: Dr C R van der Merwe, Prof. J J Theron, Prof. E R Orchard, Prof. W J Lütjharms, Dr J van Garderen, Dr C P Naudé, Miss I Sichel, Mr A V Betts, Mr P v/d M Bruwer, Mr G M Ferreira, Mr P A Louw, Mr H Klintworth, Mr G Murray, Mr M S Steyn, Mr F J Rosenstrauch and Mr D J R van Dyk.


Miss Sichel, who passed away in Pretoria in 2002, was the last surviving SSSSA founder member.